About Our Club

The Rotary Club of Kathmandu Mid-Town was chartered on the 8th of November 1989 with 26 members, 3 of whom were women – a landmark accomplishment on the very first year that Rotary International opened up its membership to women. Mid-Town was also the first ‘breakfast’ Club in Nepal. The Club Charter was presented to Charter President Dr. Roop Jyoti by the then incoming RI President Paula V. Costa. The members of the newly formed Club agreed to support the Rotary Foundation by becoming Paul Harris fellows. In 2011 the Club was officially recognized by Rotary International as a 100% Paul Harris Fellow Club.


Official name Rotary Club of Kathmandu Mid-Town
RI Zone 5 (Asia)
RI District 3292 Nepal-Bhutan
RI Club ID 26776
Language English
Weekly Meeting Every Friday morning 7:30 AM
Web page http://rotarymidtown.org.np/
Meeting location Hotel de l’Annapurna, Durbar Marg

Sponsored Rotaract Club: The Rotary Club of Kathmandu Mid-Town (Chartered on 16 February 1998) see their activities on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Rotaractclubofktmmidtown and on their web page at: http://rotaractnepal.org.np/

Sponsored Interact Clubs:

  • Interact Club of Kathmandu Mid-Town, Kirtipur
  • Interact Club of Kathmandu Mid Town, Pagna
  • Interact Club of Kathmandu Mid Town, Thaiba (This was the first Interact club in Nepal, it was chartered on 11 June 1998)

Sponsored Rotary Community Corps (RCC):

  • 1991 – Ramkot Village, Bagmati Zone
  • 2008 – Lele Village in Lele VDC, Laitpur District
  • 2013 – Sooryapal Village Improvement Committee in Sooryapal VDC, Lamjung District
  • 2013 – Samaj Sudhar Kendra Dhuwakot in Dhuwakot VDC, Gorkha District

Sponsored Rotary Clubs:

  • Rotary Club of New Road City and
  • Rotary Club of Pashupati

Actual Club strength: Currently 53 members, of which 12 are women. Our Club includes members from many different nationalities i.e. Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Italy, Nepal, New Zealand, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

The Rotary Foundation and Paul Harris Fellows: RC KTM Mid-Town has received Rotary International recognition as a 100% Paul Harris Fellow Club. Our Club has 14 Multiple Paul Harris Fellows and 3 Major Donors. Total all time giving to TRF $USD 151,982 (as of 15 May 2015).

Past Presidents: Dr. Roop Jyoti (1989-91), Late Anoop Rana (1991-92), Ambica Shrestha (1992-93), Anand Tuladhar (1993-94), Niranjan Man Pradhan (1994-95), Yogendra Man Pradhan (1995-96), Dr. Chandra Lekha Tuladhar (1996-97), Mani Dhoj Joshi (1997-98), Gopal Sundar Kakshapati (1998-99), Giridhar Lal Manandhar (1999-2000), William Ma (2000-01), Ajaya Ratna Sthapith (2001-02), Hartmut Bauder (2002-03), Jyotsna Shrestha (2003-04), Arun Man Sherchan (2004-05), Komal Chitrakar (2005-06), Chandra Kumar Golchha (2006-07), Walter Dillar (2007-08), RR Shrestha (2008-09), Subarna Joshi (2009-10), Late Pratap Malla (2010-11), Dr Som P. Pudasaini (2011-12), Devendra N.Gongol (2012-13); Saroj Shrestha (2013-14), and Kul Chandra Gautam (2014-15), Paras J B Rana (2015-16), Shanker Sharma (2016-17) .